Back in September, the talk show host mentioned on The Drew Barrymore Show that she could go years without getting intimate with anyone, and she was prompted to elaborate on those comments after a fan said she “hates sex.” “I have very different feelings about intimacy than I did growing up,” she wrote. “I did not have role model parents and I engaged with people in grown-up ways since a tender age! I was looking for companionship! Validation! Excitement! Pleasure! Hedonism! Fun! And adventures!! Now, because I can’t get in the time machine and change my history, so I now choose to look at it through a positive lens, which is that I have lived! I lived a very rich, full life. However, after two kids and a separation from their father, that has made me cautious, I have had the pleasure of shifting my focus when it comes to love for myself and my two daughters.” Barrymore shares her two daughters, 10-year-old Olive and 8-year-old Frankie, with Kopelman, and ever since their split, the actress’ priorities have changed, noting that she has had the pleasure to “work on myself” to “learn what parenting is.”  Barrymore went on to explain that she is raising two girls and wants them to be “empowered” and “love themselves.” She continued: “I’m not a person who needs sex and has to go out there and engage with people on that level. I am someone who is deeply committed to fostering how young girls, my daughters, and myself as a woman, are supposed to function in this world! A relationship with a man has not been top of mind for me for a very long time.“She finished off the blog post by stating, “So for the record, I do not hate sex! I have just finally come to the epiphany that love and sex are simply not the same thing.” Barrymore added she has arrived at the place she “searched my whole life for, which is to be a calm woman and not a bombastic party girl.” More News:

Selma Blair Shares Several Memorable Star-Studded Selfies From Academy Museum Gala

Jessie James Decker Teases ‘DWTS’ Performance That Will Break Through Her ‘Nervous Shell’

Everything You Need to Know About the ‘A Christmas Story’ Christmas Sequel