Read on for my interview with Eric, and make sure to check in with Parade.com every day for interviews with this season’s contestants and other tidbits. Survivor 41 premieres on September 22 with a special two-hour episode on CBS. What’s your history with watching Survivor? My history dates back to when I originally was in Okinawa, Japan putting my first Survivor audition videotape together on a VHS. When Richard Hatch was the first winner. Throughout the seasons, I’ve lived overseas, so I’ve also had an opportunity to be able to see and enjoy the different adventures and locations of Survivor. Up until right now; I’m on Survivor! Give me one Survivor winner and one non-winner who you identify with the most. One non-winner that I really enjoyed was James [Clement]. James just came in there and knocked it all down. I also like Ethan. Ethan was a good guy. Just a charismatic type of guy. What’s one life experience you feel has prepared you most for the game? I spent seven years as a college professor or teaching some type of coursework. Being able to sit out there and recognize what an audience needs. Being able to look out there when they came in after lunch, and it’s time to take a break because they’re about to fall asleep. The ability to observe people, facial tics, things of that nature. I think that’s gonna be beneficial to me. What do you think people will perceive you as? The perception that I’m probably gonna give off is a nice guy. That guy that will give a helping hand. They’re probably never gonna see that other side of me until it’s necessary. What do you desire in an alliance partner? I’m looking for somebody that understands that this is not a fast-paced game. Let’s go ahead and stage it out. No need to try to vote off the strongest guy before we even make it to the merge because we still have challenges to win. Let us work as a team. Let’s focus on our strengths. Winning stops voting; if you’re not winning, you’re voting somebody out. So let’s form a team, and let’s get to winning. What’s your current game plan for when you touch down on the beach? My current game plan when I touch down is to personally get to know as much as I can about my team. What are they like? What are some of the things they would do at home? In a challenge, I don’t want to be screaming at them when that’s something that’s gonna make them shrink. I want to get to know ’em, get to learn ’em. Get some information about them. How much authenticity do you plan on bringing into the game? My authenticity is going to come from who I am. In my day-to-day life, I’m a very happy-go-lucky, nice guy. But I also have responsibilities. I can’t be the same person talking to my daughter when I know I need her to get something done. That’s where you get to know the people and get a better understanding of them in a short period of time. What will people underestimate in you the most on Survivor? I think people are gonna say, “Hey, that’s guy’s 50 years old! He can’t do it no more.” And then I’m gonna put it on ’em! Which is more important to your game: Strategy or social? I think it’s going to be the strategy for my game. It’s really gonna be a combination. You have to be able to talk and communicate with people. But you also have to know when not to do something. So my biggest strategy is knowing when not to do something. When you’re at your lowest moment in the game, what’s one happy memory you’ll pull from in your time of need? During those low moments in the game, I’m gonna remember the phone call with my daughter when she moves in with a boyfriend. Or my wife told me to take something off the counter. Or play a song in my head that I brought out just especially for Survivor. What celebrity or fictional character would you want to come out for a Loved Ones visit? It’s got to be my mama. I want her to be able to see through my eyes what I see. A chance for her to stand out there, and Jeff’s out there, and the rest of the survivors are out there. And she sees her baby boy doing what he does. That’s why I want to come out. You get the opportunity to use magic once while playing the game of Survivor. What do you use it for? I want an idol that allows me to be able to use it after the vote is cast. That’s what I want. Next, check out our interview with Survivor 41 contestant Liana Wallace.

Eric Abraham   Survivor 41 Cast Member - 94