The Grammy winner told Entertainment Tonight in 2015 that she wrote the song “for my particular future husband out there, wherever he is. I’m just preparing him. Lettin’ him know what’s up”…well, she has since found him! Here is everything you need to know about Trainor’s husband, DarylSabara, from their first encounter to the Hollywood star who set them up…

Who is Meghan Trainor’s husband?

Born and raised in southern California, Sabara got his start as a performer when he joined a professional ballet company at the ripe, old age of 4. Until he became Trainor’s better half, he was best known for playing Juni Cortez in the Spy Kids franchise. He’s also guested on a slew of TV shows, including Will and Grace, Murphy Brown, Weeds, House M.D., Wizards of Waverly Place and more. Sabara has also done extensive voice work on animated projects like Generator Rex, Gravity Falls and Ultimate Spider-Man. Probably not coincidentally, he has a fraternal twin brother, Evan Sabara, who’s also a voice actor!

How did Meghan Trainor meet her husband Daryl Sabara?

Trainor and Sabara’s paths first crossed in 2014 at an L.A. house party. “I was like, ‘Oh my God, it’s Spy Kids,’” Trainor later recalled to PEOPLE. “I went up to him while he was getting a drink. I was like, ‘Are you Spy Kids?’ And he was like, ‘Yeah.’ And I thought that was so cool. And I told all my friends all night long, like, watch this guys, and I would yell, ‘Yo, what’s up Spy Kids?’ And he would go, ‘Yo, what’s up, Meghan?’ I called my entire family and was like, ‘I partied with Spy Kids last night.’” Sabara also remembered that night when a “really cute blonde, blue-eyed girl” came up to him. He admitted,  “I couldn’t forget her.” Two years later, actress Chloë Grace Moretz played matchmaker for her friends. “I asked every person I met since day one, ‘Find me a boyfriend!’ Like, especially new friends too. Chloë Grace Moretz is a friend of mine, and day one of meeting her, I was like, ‘You know anybody that I could date? Or love? Whatever,’” Trainor previously revealed on Chelsea Handler’s Netflix show (via PEOPLE). “And she’s like, ‘I know the nicest guy in the world, Daryl, and you should meet him.’ I was like, ‘Daryl? Okay.’” For Sabara, it was love at first sight. “It all happened when you first walked in the room on that double date and it was this ease just came over me, like there she is,” he confessed (via PEOPLE) in 2020 on Apple Music Hits’ Dirty Radio with Meghan Trainor. “I never knew that I would get married and then when I saw you, it just flashed before my eyes.”

When did Meghan Trainor and Daryl Sabara start dating?

The duo began dating in July 2016. Trainor marked their one-year anniversary as a couple in 2017 with a tribute on Instagram that read: “An entire year with the love of my life. I am truly the luckiest girl in the world. Thank you @darylsabara for loving me and making me feel beautiful and special every single day this year. Thank you for making me a better songwriter. I love you with all of my heart ❤️.”

When did Meghan Trainor and Daryl Sabara get engaged?

Sabara popped the question in 2017 under a tunnel of Christmas lights at the Living Desert Zoo & Gardens in Palm Springs. Announcing her engagement on Instagram, Trainor wrote: “I SAID YESSSS!!!! For my 24th birthday, the love of my life @darylsabara made all of my dreams come true. He proposed to me under a tunnel of beautiful Christmas lights and surprised me with my family and friends. I’m still in shock. I’ve never been this happy! Thank you Daryl, my family and friends for making me feel like a real princess.”

When did Meghan Trainor and Daryl Sabara get married?

The couple tied the knot in a backyard ceremony at their L.A. home on Trainer’s 25th birthday in December 2018. “I always pictured myself getting married; I just never pictured what it would look like,” Trainor told PEOPLE of her big day. “But it’s better than I could ever have dreamed of. It was magical.” At their wedding, the groom surprised his wife with an epic dance routine…watch below!

Do Meghan Trainor and Daryl Sabara have kids?

Less than one month after their nuptials, Trainor told PEOPLE in 2019 that she and Sabara were “ready to rumble” and that she wanted “some children.” It took a little longer, but in February of this year, the pair welcomed their first child, son Riley. Trainor marked her husband’s first Father’s Day with a heartfelt Instagram post. She penned, “I got to watch you become a father this year and it was beyond beautiful. Happy First Father’s Day @darylsabara you are already an incredible father 4 months in! Our baby is so lucky to have you as a dad ❤️.” Next, Everything You Need to Know About Channing Tatum as a Father!

Meet Meghan Trainor s Husband   Spy Kids  Star Daryl Sabara - 34